Let’s Cook! Easy Cajun Hummus Recipe

January 19, 2010

This one’s for Gordon….*

I came across a really simple Cajun Hummus recipe in the January 2010 issue of Chile Pepper Magazine (a great publication if you enjoy, as they put it, “The Zesty Life”). So I gave it a try, it turned out well, so I thought I’d share. I’m going to simplify the recipe as written a bit – it included a recipe for Cajun seasoning, but I just used an off-the-shelf prepared mix.

Cajun Hummus with Pita Chips (original recipe by Stacy Camacho)

Makes 1 1/2 – 2 cups

1 (16 ounce) can chickpeas (aka garbanzos) drained and rinsed (you paying attention Gordon?)

1 tablespoon Cajun Seasoning (I used Tone’s brand)

Juice of 1 Lemon

2 Cloves Garlic, peeled and crushed

1/2 to 3/4 cup olive oil (I used Extra Virgin… no comments from the Peanut Gallery please…)

Salt and pepper to taste

Put everything except the oil into your handy-dandy food processor (I imagine a good blender will work as well) and begin to puree – slowly add the oil through the feed tube until you get a creamy consistency. Taste and season with salt and pepper (or even more Cajun seasoning) as desired. I added a bit of hot sauce on top as well when serving.

Now the hard part of the recipe… washing out the damn food processor…

Pretty tough, huh?

Serve with pita chips, or veggies if you really want to be healthy. I even like a hummus sandwich now and then – spread it on a nice whole wheat bread, top with some packaged broccoli slaw for a bit of crunch, and maybe a little mayo… yumm… and really pretty darn good for you too…

Cajun Hummus with Pita Chips

*Okay, so why is this for Gordon? Gordon Harvey is the Disney Runner… he does a very fun, inspirational and just quite listenable podcast called Running to Disney. He also has a blog at http://www.runtodisney.com. I have never met Gordon, but I consider him my “brother from another mother”.

Now Gordon likes his hummus… and he tried to make it once… to quite interesting results… so, stop now (I’ll wait here for you), go to iTunes and download Running to Disney Episode 29, trust me…

Now that you’re back…

Okay, he has since learned, and can make a proper hummus… but I just thought he might need another recipe just in case…

Back to the kitchen… see you soon…

2 Responses to “Let’s Cook! Easy Cajun Hummus Recipe”

  1. Gordon Says:

    Nice! Im gonna try that one out! Thanks for the shout out!

    Like


  2. […] you (and I think there are a grand total of three of you out there to begin with…) liked the Cajun Hummus recipe a while back, so here is another great, and healthy, dip, spread, base for other items, whatever […]

    Like


Leave a Reply

