Food & Wine – Quick Bites #5

March 15, 2010

It’s been a while since we have visited (or re-visited) the Epcot Food & Wine Festival, so lets get back to our trek around the World Showcase…

Perhaps our delay in returning to the festival was that next in line was Italy… one of the great and perhaps the most popular (at least in the US) cuisines of the world was, in the most humble opinion of our tasters, sadly represented here…

Three savory dishes were presented here: Polpettini (Veal Meatballs in Tomato Sauce), Cannelloni (much like Mannicotti, or a rolled Lasagna) and last, and most defiantly least, Pizza…

Okay – the first two items weren’t bad at all – the Cannelloni was pretty pedestrian, while I actually kinda liked the Polpettini, but it was far from spectacular…

Cannelloni, Polpettini and, of course, a Moretti beer

But the pizza, oh the pizza… I certainly wasn’t expecting heaven (especially for was passes as “pizza” on most of property), but I wasn’t expecting bad…

The sauce and (small portion) of meat on top were fine – but the cardboard, excuse me, the crust, was horrendous… imagine the worst frozen pizza crust you’ve had, and multiply that by at least five, and that‘s what we had here… Tough, dry, I almost cut my mouth on the stuff..

Pizza???

And I just didn’t get a bad run of the pizza, I heard the same thing from many other people…

Trust me, I don’t like to be negative… I don’t bitch just for the sake of it – I’d much rather tell you about the wonderful things I had to eat – but this was bad, and sad…

Now, I understand having some “safe” choices at the liosks for those who may not be adventurous enough to try sushi in Japan or Thai food – but that doesn’t mean the food has to be, well, crap…

Maybe a good (or even descent) pizza doesn’t lend itself to the requirements of being produced and served quickly in the volumes required at the Food and Wine Festival – if that’s the case, well, don’t serve it – it’s not like there there is a shortage of Italian dishes to choose from!

Okay – enough of the negative…

Next around the way is Germany and Australia… and both are an improvement… we’ll visit them soon…

Leave a Reply

