Margarita of the Month: June

June 1, 2010

Margarita of the Month: June

Both of my loyal readers are well acquainted with my fondness for that delightful agave liquid known as Tequila, and especially that magical concoction made from it called the Margarita.

Mine, there's all mine!!!

A bit of personal history to start: like many an impetuous youth I had a less-than-happy experience once with said tequila. Shots of cheep tequila chased with beer following my fraternity initiation (yes folks, I’m a frat boy…) led to, well, I won’t spell it out… let’s just say for many years the distinctive aroma of tequila was enough to make me queasy. The College Fiance would always order a margarita when we would go out for a meal… she delighted in running her glass under my nose and asking if I’d like a sip… bitch… good thing she never got past fiance….

At any rate, after many years of eschewing tequila, I was put into a situation where it was difficult not to consume it… I was on vacation staying with friends and we were invited to the home of his employer (who would eventually wind up also being my employer for over 20 years). As we entered the domicile we were all handed drinks – there was no asking what we’d like, or even if we’d like a drink, it was just put into our hands – and from the smell and look of it I quickly knew I was holding the dreaded (da-dum!) Margarita! I decided it would be impolite to refuse the generous gesture of our hosts, so I was going to smile, sip, nurse that puppy along and try not to barf on their carpet. I lifted the glass to my lips, the slight sting of the salted rim was followed by, wonder of wonders, a taste that I actually seemed to, well, like… so another tentative taste followed, by another, and another… I had found my love…

Margaritafest with Cat #2

And now, many years later, I present to you Dear Readers (drum roll please), the Eating and Drinking Around the World Margarita of the Month! Ta-da!

Okay, so I guess it’s only appropriate for our initial venture to start off with the original, so-called, “Classic” Margarita. And once again, we’ll start with a little history lesson…

Sometime in the 1930’s or 1940’s some guy (likely a bartender somewhere) or perhaps some gal created the Margarita cocktail in honor of some female with that or a similar name (or herself)… okay, the true origins are not exactly clear… there are many stories (several with a few common threads… so I guess I’d give one of them the most credence…) – I won’t repeat them all here, if you want take a look at the always accurate Wikipedia, check the entry there, or try doing a Google search for “Margarita Origins” – some sites/writers are very adamant about their choices, and actually a good argument can even be made that what we consider the classic Mexican cocktail was actually (now sit yourself down for this) an English invention (okay, I’ll give you one link for that one here)! If you have the time it actually makes some interesting reading to go through them all (or at least a few of them…).

The usual list of ingredients in a “classic” is pretty straight-forward: tequila (normally silver), orange liquor (such as Grand Marnier or Triple Sec), lime juice and maybe sugar or simple syrup. Mix these goodies up in the proper proportions and you have something resembling the original concoction. There are many simple variations on this theme as add a dash of this or that and to me (and of course here I am the only one who counts) still qualifies as a “Classic” (or maybe you’d call the “Basic”) Margarita.

And since we’re on our inaugural episode of monthly margarita madness, I’m going to give you, at no extra charge, a bonus recipe! So now here are this months recipes for basic or classic-style margaritas. Enjoy (responsively, of course…)!

Classic Margarita (from the book “101 Margaritas” by Kim Haasarud

2 ounces Tequila (“Silver” would be the Classic choice, and of course, the better the Tequila, the better the Margarita…)

2 ounces Simple Syrup (take 1/2-1 cup sugar and an equal amount of water, simmer over low heat until sugar is dissolved and let cool)

1 ounce Cointreau

1 ounce Lime Juice

Lime Wheel for garnish

Combine all (except the Lime Wheel) in a shaker with cubed ice and shake vigorously. Serve straight up or over ice in salt rimmed glass, garnish with the lime.

The Margarita (from the book “Tequila” by Joanne Weir)

“Serves 1 very happy Margarita lover”

1 1/2 ounces 100 percent Agave Tequila

3/4 ounce Agave Nectar (an alternate sweetener to Simple Syrup, I found at the grocery)

3/4 ounce water

1 ounce fresh-squeezed lime juice

1 lime slice, for garnish (optional)

Combine all (except the lime slice) in a shaker with plenty of ice and shake vigorously for 5 seconds. Strain into glass over fresh ice, garnish with the lime slice if desired.

So there you have it, our first foray in the Margarita of the Month. Post a comment if you try these and let everyone know what you thought of them, and which one you like better. Me, I’m withholding judgment upon further research… and speaking of which, I had better get back to the kitchen to get in some more research for next month’s margarita… the things I go through for you people…

3 Responses to “Margarita of the Month: June”

  1. sambycat Says:

    are those ice cubes or,,, lychees? they frighten me.

    Like

  2. fishyrocketboy Says:

    Ice, ice baby! Lisa don’t fear the freezer!

    Like

  3. sambycat Says:

    nicely done!

    Like


Leave a Reply

