Rubbing elbows…

November 22, 2010

If you’re a “foodie” (and I’m still not sure I like that word, but it’s the best thing I have right now…), one of the most enjoyable things about the Epcot Food & Wine Festival is the opportunity to rub elbows (and at least in the case of Chef Cora, maybe other body parts…) with celebrity chefs, cookbook authors, wine makers and the like…

There are book signings, bottle signings, food and beverage demos, special dinners and so on – all of which give you the chance for at least a little bit of face time and conversation with some “real-life” food celebs…

So here’s a few pics and some notes from a few of the encounters I was fortunate to have during Food and Wine… and yes there will be (eventually) more details on each…

Andrew Zimmern, that “Bizarre Foods” guy, put on a food demo one afternoon – Doc Terminus accompanied me and it was a most enjoyable hour. Afterwards we had the chance to meet Chef Andrew and he was as personable and approachable in person as he comes across on TV.

Chef Andrew greets Doc Terminus

On meeting him I noted that I was an “Andrew” as well… he signed my book and with an arrow to his picture and he noted “Me, not you”.

You already know I spent some quality time with Iron Chef Cat Cora (if not you can see some other pics here), and yes sis, details will follow…

Miss Bonnie and I attended the culinary demonstration by Todd English (of bluezoo, among many other restaurants).

I found him to be quite engaging and personable. During his demo he showed quite a bit of humor (including several self-deprecating comments). Afterwards we happened to be right by him, and as the Disney-folk kept trying to whisk him away, Miss Bonnie pushed me to ask for a picture… he gladly obliged and spent several minutes chatting with us…

The smolder...

Okay, now we’re back to the real world… it’s been a couple of weeks since I had a celebrity chef encounter, and I’m not sure how to cope…

I think I’ll go see another…

2 Responses to “Rubbing elbows…”


  1. […] fortunate to attend a cooking demonstration by Chef Andrew Zimmern of “Bizarre Foods” fame (see Rubbing Elbows for a few choice […]

    Like


  2. […] If you’re just dying to see more of me with celeb chefs you can visit (or re-visit) these posts: “Who’s that strange man trying to fondle an Iron Chef” and “Rubbing elbows…“ […]

    Like


Leave a Reply

