Kindred spirit(s)

August 3, 2011

Like many of you I’m sure, several dead trees make their way into my (real physical) mailbox on a regular basis – as you might assume I do look forward to seeing such periodicals as Bon Appetit, Food Network Magazine, Cooking Light and so forth showing up – however only my handful of Dedicated Readers might not be surprised that one of my real favorite magazines is Runner’s World

For the time being I’ll spare you the details of my various and heroic athletic exploits (okay, “athletic” may be a bit of an overstatement…), but many do involve events at Disney (for those of you who insist on a Disney connection to ever post)… anyway, Runner’s World is quite an enjoyable publication with info for runners from the neophyte to the experienced. Regular contributors include Run Disney coach and Olympian Jeff Galloway, Peter Sagal (host of NPR’s “Wait Wait, Don’t Tell Me“), and food writer Mark Bittman.

One of my favorite monthly features of the magazine is on the last page: “I’m a Runner”. On this page is a brief interview (there are longer versions online) with various celebrities/public figures/etc who also happen to be runners. Some of the diverse individuals profiled include Sir James Dyson (of vacuum cleaner fame), singer Alanis Morissette, U.S. Poet Laureate Kay Ryan, chef Bobby Flay,  Flea of the Red Hot Chili Peppers and that Palin Power Couple: Python Michael and Tea Party darling Sarah…

Perhaps my favorite interview however was with a must be Kindred Sprit: actor Scott Bakula.

Scott Bakula (as Enterprise Captain Archer)

Best known for his sci-fi stints in the TV shows “Quantum Leap” and “Star Trek: Enterprise”, the fifty-something Bakula is also an accomplished amateur runner. But what endeared me to him was his answers to a couple of questions (one of which was in the magazine, and another in the extended interview online, which you can read here).

When given the line: “I celebrate a hard run with a delicious…”, he responded with: “I always come back and do like a big fruit shake. At the end of the day, a margarita works really well, too.”

So yes, we agree on the value of margaritas as a recovery drink!

And when asked “So you don’t run to eat?”, Bakula replied “No, I used to run to drink. When I was a kid, living in New York—have a couple beers and play some backgammon for a couple hours.”

Okay, run to drink… what a concept! And even though I love my margaritas, beer really is a great recovery drink – yes Dear Readers, I do know where to get a beer in Epcot at 9 Am at the end of a Disney race…

So Scott, we seem to be cut from the same cloth… if we’re ever at a race together drinks are on me… come to Disney for Marathon weekend and I’ll pick up the tab at La Cava…

Leave a Reply

