Let’s Cook! Individual Blueberry Pies

August 5, 2011

Looking for a little fruity/berry goodness that’s easy as flip to make and (practically) everyone will love? Well, here you have it…

Recently Tampa Tribune food writer Jeff Houck published this recipe from the U.S Highbush Blueberry Council (whatever the heck that is), and it looked too good not to try… I made a double batch and took the resulting cute little pies into the Real Job to share and was met with sincere raves (or at least as sincere as most of my co-workers ever get… I’m just sayin’…). So here’s the recipe pretty much as presented – let’s cook!

Individual Blueberry Pies

Makes six portions

Ingredients

1/4 Cup Peach Preserves (or apricot preserves or blueberry jam)

1 Tbl Water

2 Cups Fresh Blueberries (one of the pint containers should equal this)

6 Mini Graham Cracker Pie Crusts (one 4-oz package)

2 Tbl Sliced Almonds (or other toppings, see below)

Procedure

In a microwavable bowl, stir the preserves and water and microwave on high for 30 seconds until melted. Stir in the blueberries (which you, of course, have rinsed and carefully picked thru) and microwave for 45 seconds. Stir again and cook another 30 – 45 seconds until the blueberries are hot and a bit soft, but not bursting apart.

Stir and spoon the berry mixture into the crusts and stick into the ‘fridge until set – about an hour (you can certainly prepare a day or two ahead and refrigerate until ready to serve).

To serve, the recipe calls to just sprinkle with three or our almond slices – I opted to use prepared whipped topping (aka “Cool Whip”) – you can certainly top that with almonds as well… a spoonful of soft vanilla ice cream would also be nice atop these cute little pies.

Yes, you really should make these… super simple, really good… I haven’t tried to run the numbers, but the calories shouldn’t be too bad if you’re trying to watch your girlish figure (and with the size, nicely portion-contolled) – and the young ones should love the adorable little kiddie-sized things…

My few Dedicated Readers should know by now that I can’t leave well enough alone… so yes, I have come up with my own version which I will share very soon (soon, I really mean it)…

Back to the kitchen…

2 Responses to “Let’s Cook! Individual Blueberry Pies”


  1. moreish and delicious! bookmarking for cooking tomorrow 🙂

    Like


  2. […] horribly long ago I shared a recipe for Individual Blueberry Pies – and at the end I promised you my own version, and yes, I have kicked it up a notch! I just […]

    Like


Leave a Reply

