Let’s Cook! Goat Cheese Guacamole

June 28, 2013

Maybe I will change your life...

Maybe I will change your life…

Many Thursday nights I attend a party – one with cocktails, drinking games involving accents, special culinary guests and lots of fun food talk… of course I’m referring to the internet get-together known as #KitchenParty. On one show a few weeks ago, Gaby Dalkin of the What’s Gaby Cooking blog was the guest discussing (among other things) her avocado obsession, and her newly released book, Absolutely Avocados.

photo

After watching the show, and perusing her blog and recipes, I decided I just had to have this book in my hands! Not even wanting to wait the few days for Amazon to deliver said tome, the following day I made my way to local retailers to gladly pay full price (and sales tax) for the book. On my second stop at Books-a-Million I found the book (tucked away in the Vegetarian Cooking section, even though it’s not a meatless cookbook…), handed over my semi-hard-earned cash and scurried home to drool over the recipes…

Medium story short, I’ve tried several recipes from Absolutely Avocados, and all have been winners so far, but a real star is the Goat Cheese Guacamole… In the intro to the recipe, Gaby says “…it will probably change your life”… I don’t know if it’s truly life-altering, but it’s a recipe that has certainly and quickly made it’s way into my list of go-to/sure to please dishes!

So dear Dedicated Readers, without further ado, Let’s Cook!

Goat Cheese Guacamole

Ingredients

3 Hass Avacados

1/3 Cup Crumbled Goat Cheese

1/4 Cup Chopped Fresh Chives

20130626-192149.jpg

Chive talkin’

1/4 Cup Chopped Sun-Dried Tomatoes in Oil

1 Tbl Fresh Lemon Juice

Coarse Salt and Fresh-ground Pepper to taste

Chips, etc. for serving

Procedure

Cut the avocados in half lengthwise and remove the pits. Take the flesh from the skin and put into a bowl.

DSCF3629

Add the cheese, chives, tomatoes, lemon juice, salt and pepper and mash with a fork until desired consistency (half smooth/half creamy is what the recipe specifies).

DSCF3632

Taste and add more salt and pepper if needed.

DSCF3634

Serve up with tortilla chips or your choice of flavor delivery device.

DSCF3637

If your chives happen to be blooming (as mine have been recently), tear some apart and sprinkle them atop the guac for a nice garnish (and if you haven’t tasted chive flowers, you don’t know what you’re missing – seriously!).

Miss Bonnie & I recently made it to take to a friends 50th birthday bash, and I was met with rave reviews! Okay, I can’t promise this will actually change your life, but unless you’re totally avocado-averse, you’ll like this one! If you’re looking for something to take along to an up-coming 4th of July party, consider this…

I recommend you check out Gaby’s book – the recipes all look great (okay, I’m still not sure about the Avocado Chocolate Chip Cookies…), the photos are gorgeous, and her writing and sense of humor is a bit goofy and totally fun. Click on the link to check out her visit to #KitchenParty.

 Back to the kitchen (after a brief visit to the World) – see you soon!

One Response to “Let’s Cook! Goat Cheese Guacamole”

  1. fishyrocketboy Says:

    Reblogged this on Eating (and Drinking) around the World and commented:

    Looking for a last minute dish for Cinco de Mayo? Give this terrific guacamole recipe a try!

    Like


Leave a Reply

